Information about being a volunteer with Fire and Emergency New Zealand : Becoming a volunteer


Volunteer Award Holders 2016

We have nine Fire and Emergency NZ Voluntary Rural Fire Forces comprised of 120 volunteers within the Nelson Tasman district.

Our Voluntary Rural Fire Forces;

  • Appleby VRFF
  • Brightwater VRFF
  • Glen Hira VRFF
  • Marahau VRFF
  • Lake Rotoiti VRFF
  • Ngatimoti VRFF
  • Tasman VRFF
  • Upper Takaka VRFF
  • Wainui Bay VRFF

Our highly trained and dedicated volunteers work tirelessly to serve their local communities and the rural assets within the district. We are ever grateful to the commitment, sacrifice and often hard and dirty work our volunteers undertake to serve the district and the rural community

Our volunteers expertise is in rural vegetation firefighting, but increasingly they are often the first to arrive and assist urban crews at motor vehicle accidents, structural fires and medical assistance callouts in the rural environment.

With the integration of rural and urban firefighters into the Fire and Emergency NZ organisation, our rural volunteers will progressively expand their training and resources to deal with a wider variety of emergency situations in their own and the wider community.