Types of Fire Seasons

Open Fire Season

A fire can be lit in the open air without a Fire Permit. Full responsibility is with the person lighting the fire to take all precautions and make sure any fire is safe and secure.

Restricted Fire Season

Restrictions are placed on some burning activities. You may still be able to have a fire provided you obtain a fire permit and comply with all the conditions associated with the permit.

Prohibited Fire Season or Total Fire Ban

A Prohibited Fire Season means no open fires are permitted as the fire danger is too high.

Nelson Tasman Fire and Emergency NZ has authorised the following exemption from the prohibited fire season:

  • Gas barbeques
  • Charcoal barbeques
  • Permanent Outdoor fireplaces
  • Braziers

Subject to the following conditions:

  • Fuel must be restricted to gas, liquid, charcoal or solid wood
  • Five metres of non-flammable area surrounds the fire to ensure the fire does not spread
  • There is no risk of embers carrying to surrounding flammable material
  • There is water available to extinguish the fire
  • Continuous supervision is undertaken until the fire is fully extinguished
  • The fire is extinguished if a strong wind is blowing


365-day Prohibited Areas

Two areas within the Nelson Tasman Fire and Emergency NZ district have 12-month prohibited seasons in place. Open fires are prohibited in the Marahau and Kaiteri area; All the property north of Ngaio Bay known as Towers Bay and the Toko Ngawa subdivision including the foreshore of Towers Bay and Split Apple Rock Bays, the Otuwhero Estuary including the Otuwhero sand spit and road edges along the Kaiteriteri Sandy Bay road that relates to those areas.